Thoughts for the Week

00030100164425_full (1)

This is a story about a funny conversation I had with God over little cheesy crackers.

Growing up, my favorite snack was cheddar Munch’ems. They ran through the 1990’s until approximately the early 2000’s when they were discontinued by the manufacturer.

I remember snagging a box of these delicious little crackers, toting them outside, and watching the fluffy summer clouds drift by as I chowed down. I have many good memories about this simple snack.

Fast forward about fifteen years and I was thinking about how Jesus said he’s got to prepare a place for us in heaven because his Father has many mansions (John 14:2).

Well, a mansion needs a kitchen, right? And if there’s a kitchen, there’s got to be a pantry. I smiled and shot up a little prayer. “Hey God, I know you’re a loving Father, so I have a request. Can you stockpile some cheddar Munch’ems in the pantry of my mansion, please?”

Then he responded to me. Now, whenever God speaks to me, I have not heard an audible voice, but I usually get impressions on my heart that I know are not my own thoughts. So he said something along the lines of:

“Oh honey, you know I love you so much, but when it comes to what I’ve prepared for you, you’ve got to dream bigger than Munch’ems!”

I then prayed back “What! Bigger than Munch’ems? I didn’t think that was possible!” And laughed.

It may have been a funny little prayer request, but on tough days, sometimes God talks to me and sends me little reminders that go something along the lines of “Don’t get discouraged – remember I’m waiting here with Munch’ems for you.”

Which sounds so comforting and brings me back to a beautiful childhood, just watching the clouds go by.

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love him” (1 Cor. 2:9b, NLT).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

