Thoughts for the Week

God Wanted Me to Exist

The story of how I came to be is a fascinating one.

My parents were married in 1980 and I was born over ten years later. My mom recalls wondering if she and my dad were ever going to be able to have kids and it was something they kept private.

However, there was a gentleman by the name of Mr. Tullis who went to my parents’ church in Chicago. He had started to pray for the young couples in the church because God had asked him to.

He prayed for my parents and asked God what they needed prayer for. God said he should pray for a baby for them, so he did. He didn’t really know my parents, but it was what God told him to do.

About a month later, Mr. Tullis took his time to pray, and when he got to praying for my parents to have a baby, God interrupted him. He told Mr. Tullis that this request was taken care of and it was time to start praying for something else.

Meanwhile, my mom was on a business trip with her business associate. The associate had bought her a pregnancy test since my mom had thought about buying one earlier, but had been disappointed so many times.

But it was a different story then. She found out she was pregnant, and on a Friday the 13th, too, which she jokes now “was the luckiest day of my life.”

When my mom next attended church, she was mentioning to a friend in the lobby that she and my dad were finally going to have a baby. Mr. Tullis happened to be standing somewhat nearby, heard this, and came over to my mom, who had no idea what was going on.

“Are y’all pregnant? Praise God!” Then proceed to tell my mom about what God had told him in his prayer life.

I’ve known this story for a while, but it moved me deeply knowing that God really wanted me to exist and that he specifically told one prayer warrior to ask him to ensure my mom became pregnant with me.

I don’t even know how all of that works, and we may not know this side of eternity. But it reminds me of God’s promise in Jeremiah:

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”(29:11, NIV).

Copyright 2016 by Molly Farnsley. Use by permission only.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

