Thoughts for the Week

Curiosity and the Cat

My cat, Wheatley, almost ate a hornet a few days ago.

I was washing dishes in the kitchen when I saw him on the table, starting to stalk something on the windowsill. It took me a second to realize that the thing Wheatley was stalking, was buzzing and angrily bouncing off the interior glass.

My first thought was, “Oh, Whealtey found a hornet.”

My second thought was, “OH! Wheatley found a hornet!”

He was about ready to chomp down on the bug when I grabbed him by the tail, pulled him back across the table, then scooped him up in my arms and hurried safely into the next room.

After I took care of the little intruder, I realized how calm my cat had been when I had to get him out of the room. He didn’t hiss, claw me, or seemed generally worried. I was proud that he had trusted me when it came to a situation he couldn’t understand.

God wants us to give him the same kind of trust. There are situations that come into our lives that we couldn’t begin to understand, that God might pull us out of or put us in with no explanation.

But God asks us to trust him when his ways seem mysterious because “we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose (Rom 8:28 NIV)” and “Will not the Judge of all the earth do right? (Gen 18:25b).”

If you are loving enough to remove your pet from a dangerous situation without an explanation, can’t you trust the God who loves you infinitely more?

Copyright 2015 by Molly Farnsley. Use by Permission Only.
Comments on: "Curiosity and the Cat" (2)

  1. I think you wrote this blog post just for me, Molly. I really needed it! Love, Aunt Faith

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

