Thoughts for the Week

He Overcomes

overcome1The other day, my church introduced me to a new worship song:

Every high thing must come down, Every stronghold must be broken. You wear the victor’s crown, You overcome, you overcome. (Darlene Zschech – Victor’s Crown, 2013)

If I had sung this song as a child, I would have been confused. I knew what it meant to overcome, but what was God overcoming? As an adult, I understand. He overcomes sin in this broken world.

Thankfully, I grew up in a happy household that kept me safe and showed me love. It wasn’t until mid-high school I really start grasping what hate and brokenness were. I saw how selfishness, pride, anger, and other actions tore relationships apart. One only needs to watch the news and he or she is instantly informed about the state of our world.

I came to a conclusion. This place is really messed up!

It’s safe to assume that everyone has gone through heartache at some point. Family members pass away, friends betray friends, bodies don’t work the way they used to, and people strive for perfection without finding it.

That’s why this song means so much more to me now. God has solved all the problems of this world. “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world” (John 16:33, NIV).

It took seeing the cruelty and brokenness in this world to realize how incredible it is that he has overcome the darkness.

Copyright 2013 by Molly Anderson. Use by permission only.
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

