Thoughts for the Week

What’s Leading You?

The other day, I began my first “real” job. I was invited to intern at a publishing house and was eager to start. Outfit freshly pressed, and make-up professionally placed, I was ready to begin my first day.

However, there was a slight problem. The publishing house was over an hour away, and I had never been there. No problem, I had my handy-dandy GPS to get me there, right? Wrong.

As I drove by myself my GPS lost its signal. I tried to fight the panic that was slowing rising. I was already nervous about my internship, and technical difficulties certainly weren’t helping. I was afraid I would miss a turn, and get lost. I also didn’t want to be late on the first day. Bosses tend to frown on that.

Luckily, my GPS eventually found its signal. But apparently, my GPS has a cruel sense of humor, and a few minutes later, it lost the signal again.

For the majority of the trip, I was fighting anxiety while the signal continued its cycle of appearing and disappearing.

I remember wishing I had printed out directions so that I had something I could depend on without worrying about it slipping away so easily. Luckily, I made it to the office with plenty of time to spare.

In that moment, I was struck by the thought that I have a spiritual GPS that never loses its signal. It made me think of the much-loved Psalm 23.

“He leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake” (vs. 2-3 NIV 2011).

God leads “along the right paths.” He won’t leave us in the lurch like a weak signal.

He’s always there, and He’s is leading us home.

2012 Copyright by Molly Anderson. Use by permission only.
Comments on: "What’s Leading You?" (2)

  1. Molly, I LOVED this! But, I love EVERYTHING you write! You’ve got a gift!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

