Thoughts for the Week

Romantic Getaway

Have you ever been in love?

Spending time with the a loved one can be one of the most wonderful experiences. Planned dates are things one looks forward to all week.

But there’s something magical about a sudden getaway: a trip to the movie theater, a surprise visit, or even a late-night run for milkshakes. Impromptu dates add excitement to relationships.

One day, I realized how this can apply to our relationship with God. Planned events like church and morning devotions are like dates with your Heavenly Admirer. They’re times when you draw close to God and get to know Him better.

I was in a small group last Sunday and our leader gave us a few minutes to journal.  I nestled down on the couch and jotted down some thoughts. I told God I desired to know Him better and to please Him. As I wrote, I was struck with the joy of impromptu worship. Running into the Father’s presence just to talk with Him for a short while can be an incredible blessing.

Have you ever felt the tugging call to go and be with God for a bit? It can happen while gazing out the window at the woods, feeling a gentle breeze on your skin, or taking in a dazzling nighttime sky.

In Song of Solomon, God’s Word reveals the beauty and mystery of love. “Arise, come, my darling; my beautiful one, come with me” (2:13 NIV). God loves us so dearly that He calls us to know Him better. Even little moments of worship can bless Him.

The next time you think of it, try to go on a sudden romantic getaway, just you and your Heavenly Sweetheart.

Copyright 2011 by Molly Anderson. Use by permission only.
Comments on: "Romantic Getaway" (4)

  1. Nancy Anderson said:

    Wow- I love this! I want more and more of Him- in the planned moments, and in the impromptu moments! Thanks so much for posting this!

  2. Kimberly Reynolds said:

    What a wonderful post! Thank you for reminding us of all aspects of a relationship…embrace impromptu!! As I was reading the end “God loves us so dearly..” I had a tear in my eye and I read it as “God loves us so CLEARLY”… and then I thanked God for His message to me…He does see me clearly and still loves me! I too am blessed by your writing.

    • Oh, Kimberly, I am so glad to hear that!
      I’m touched to know this blessed you. I hope you’ll continue to get to know your Heavenly Sweetheart better. And yes, he loves you DEARLY and CLEARLY.
      Thank you so much for your comment!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

